12,207
Facilities
2025 reporting year
$8.88T
Sum of fund-reported facility sizes
2025, facility grain
46.5%
Committed
share of facilities, not provider rows
8.9%
Drawn
1,092 facilities in 2025
Data as of April 30, 2026 reporting period (2026 is partial; comparisons stop at 2025)
SEC structured N-CEN data sets exclude schema 3.1 filings, so recent-year coverage is incomplete.
Two grains, two questions. Facility counts and dollar totals collapse syndicate members to one row per fund and line sequence. The lender table stays at the distinct (fund, line sequence, lender) relationship grain. The dollar total is always labelled a sum of fund-reported facility sizes. It can still repeat an economically shared line across funds in a master-feeder structure, so it is not a market-size estimate.Committed and uncommitted facilities
In 2025, funds reported 12,207 facilities with a
summed fund-reported size of $8.88T. 5,681 were
committed and 6,526 were uncommitted. Counts can look quite different at
the provider-row grain because committed facilities tend to carry larger syndicates; this table counts each
(fund, line sequence) once.
| Reporting year | Facilities | Committed | Committed size | Uncommitted | Uncommitted size | Sum of fund-reported facility sizes |
|---|
| 2018 | 10,434 | 8,342 | $4.2T | 2,092 | $792.0B | $5.0T |
| 2019 | 18,046 | 11,064 | $6.2T | 6,982 | $2.9T | $9.2T |
| 2020 | 12,628 | 6,151 | $5.7T | 6,477 | $2.7T | $8.4T |
| 2021 | 12,866 | 6,195 | $6.0T | 6,671 | $2.8T | $8.8T |
| 2022 | 13,527 | 6,682 | $6.3T | 6,845 | $2.9T | $9.3T |
| 2023 | 13,507 | 6,294 | $6.2T | 7,213 | $3.0T | $9.3T |
| 2024 | 13,770 | 6,080 | $6.1T | 7,690 | $3.3T | $9.4T |
| 2025 | 12,207 | 5,681 | $6.1T | 6,526 | $2.8T | $8.9T |
Reporting year comes from the parsed N-CEN period end. The partial 2026 observations are excluded from this comparison.
Who provides the facilities
The 2025 filings contain 43,747 fund-lender
relationships. The table ranks the leading provider strings exactly as funds filed them, after removing only
surrounding whitespace and mapping the one null institution name to ‘Not reported’. No aliases are
consolidated, so the same banking group can appear under several spellings and the displayed shares are not
concentration estimates.
| Rank | Lender, as filed | Fund relationships | Share of relationships |
|---|
| 1 | State Street Bank and Trust Company | 3,418 | 7.81% |
| 2 | The Bank of New York Mellon | 2,289 | 5.23% |
| 3 | Citibank, N.A. | 2,050 | 4.69% |
| 4 | JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. | 1,760 | 4.02% |
| 5 | Royal Bank of Canada | 1,534 | 3.51% |
| 6 | Goldman Sachs Bank USA | 1,412 | 3.23% |
| 7 | Bank of America, N.A. | 1,364 | 3.12% |
| 8 | BNP Paribas | 1,321 | 3.02% |
| 9 | Morgan Stanley Bank, N.A. | 1,177 | 2.69% |
| 10 | Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 1,073 | 2.45% |
| 11 | U.S. Bank National Association | 1,045 | 2.39% |
| 12 | BANK OF AMERICA, N.A. | 976 | 2.23% |
| 13 | Barclays Bank PLC | 948 | 2.17% |
| 14 | The Toronto-Dominion Bank, New York Branch | 875 | 2.00% |
| 15 | Deutsche Bank AG New York Branch | 757 | 1.73% |
Which fund types report a facility
Every share uses the stable series ID as its fund grain. The denominator is every nonblank series ID in the N-CEN registry across the shipped sample, and a series is in the numerator when at least one facility appears for it. The 6,054 records with a blank series ID are excluded from these denominators. The three groups are mutually exclusive: the most recent ETF flag comes first, the most recent money-market flag comes second, and all remaining series form the third group.
Exchange-traded funds881 of 5,377 (16.4%)
Money market funds177 of 468 (37.8%)
Other registered funds7,413 of 12,123 (61.1%)
Drawn facilities and the amount used
1,092 of 12,207 facilities in
2025 were marked used, a 8.9% share. Each of those facilities reports an
average amount used. The plot below shows that distribution on its own dollar scale. It does not combine
average draws with facility size, which is a different quantity.
Average amount used, 2025
Bars are scaled to the 90th percentile shown here. Quantiles use the 1,092 non-null average-use reports on facilities marked used.
Methodology ledger
Rows, facilities and the join
The credit-line view has 358,885 rows, representing
358,842 distinct (fund ID, line sequence, lender) relationships after
removing 43 duplicate rows.
Collapsing it by fund ID and line sequence produces 109,373 facilities reported by
52,619 fund IDs. A syndicated facility can occupy at most 22
provider rows in the shipped data.
Facility size and commitment status are constant inside that group, so the query uses
any_value() for both. Summing size on the relationship rows would
produce $648.85T. It is not called the market. All
358,885 credit rows match the fund registry, leaving
0 unmatched. The registry contributes
115,767 rows, one per fund ID, across
22,328 distinct accession numbers.
Flags and fund types
Commitment status is filed as the words "Committed" and "Uncommitted". Use is filed as "Y" or "N".
The ETF and money-market fields use "Y" for true and an empty string otherwise, so every test is an explicit
comparison with "Y" rather than a truth test on the string. Fund-type shares collapse the registry to one row
per nonblank stable series ID and use the most recent filed flags. The
6,054 records with a blank series ID are excluded from share
denominators. 4 series carry both fund-type flags in their most recent
records; the mutually exclusive reliance display assigns them to ETFs because that test is applied first.
Reporting periods and comparison window
report_ending_period is text in DD-MON-YYYY form. Every query parses it with
strptime(report_ending_period, '%d-%b-%Y') before sorting or extracting a year; filing_date is not used as
the as-of date. The true period range is February 28, 2018 to
April 30, 2026. Because 2026 is partial, annual
comparisons and the provider league table stop at 2025.
Provider names and average draws
There are 439 distinct institution strings in the full file. The
provider table trims surrounding whitespace and maps the one null institution name to ‘Not reported’. It does
not merge aliases, change case, remove punctuation or assign bank parents. Relationship shares therefore describe
strings as filed, not normalized banking groups. average_credit_line_used is present for facilities marked
used and is summarized only among those non-null observations. It is never added to, or plotted on the same
scale as, line_of_credit_size.
Service-provider relationships
The service-provider view covers the annual Form N-CEN census roles reported for funds and registrants.
Annual coverage is measured from the fund registry: a year is eligible when its fund-row count is at least
90% of the largest annual count. The peak is
14,989 fund rows. 2025
has 13,629, so it is the latest eligible year;
2026 has only
1,919 and is excluded as incomplete.
Fund-keyed roles join the provider table to the fund registry on both accession number and fund ID, then deduplicate each (accession number, fund ID, role, name, LEI) relationship. Each role's share denominator is its resulting relationship count, not fund assets. HHI groups records only when they carry the same exact 20-character LEI; records without one remain grouped by exact as-filed name. Name variants are otherwise not merged, and subsidiaries are not assigned to corporate parents. Public accountants and principal underwriters have blank fund IDs, so they are deduplicated and counted at (accession number, role, name, LEI) grain without fund-level expansion. The SEC structured data excludes schema 3.1 filings, which contributes to incomplete recent coverage.
Sources
- SEC, Form N-CEN Data Sets. Public-domain SEC structured filing data joined from the credit-line, service-provider and fund-registry tables. The SEC data sets exclude schema 3.1 filings.
- SEC, Form N-CEN. Item C.7 supplies the line size, commitment, use and provider fields.
Fund flows, redemption pressure and N-PORT balance-sheet leverage are on the main funds page.